In 1787 William Jones was bereaved, and he determined to create his own personal Elysium on his estate. This astonishing building was completed to comply with the fashionable Picturesque philosophy in 1792 as a memorial to Jones’ wife. It was originally thought to have been designed by John Nash, but is now attributed to John Davenport, a Welsh architect.
The building was acquired by The Landmark Trust in 1974 and has been beautifully restored for use as a holiday let. The measured elevations shown here were produced in the 1990s for a later restoration of the external fabric.
Photographs courtesy The Landmark Trust. www.landmarktrust.org.uk
© Nicholas Keeble Associates // Historic Building & Planning Consultants