Bromfield Priory Gatehouse
This medieval timber-framed gatehouse was added by the Benedictine monks of Bromfield Priory to their precinct before 1400, and it is the single picturesque survival of the monastic buildings. It was enlarged with an upper storey after the Dissolution to create a room which has served as both manorial court and village school. It is now a large open plan space which contains splendid timber roof trusses.
The building was restored by The Landmark Trust for use as a holiday let, and it opened in 1993. The survey drawings shown here were produced to aid restoration of the fabric.
First and monochrome photographs courtesy The Landmark Trust. www.landmarktrust.org.uk
© Nicholas Keeble Associates // Historic Building & Planning Consultants